The Department of Puno is located in the southeastern part of Peru between 13 ° 00 ‘and 17 ° 08’ south latitude and 71 ° 08 ‘and 68 ° 50’ longitude west of Greenwich, in a territory of approximately 72,000 km², representing 5.6% of the Peruvian territory, with a population of 1,200,000 inhabitants, of which 60% is rural and 40% urban.
70% of the territory is located on the plateau of Collao and 30% occupies the Amazon region.

The capital of the department is the city of Puno, on the shores of the legendary Lake Titicaca, the highest navigable lake in the world, approximately 3,827 m.s.n.m. It is the center of conjunction of two great cultures: Quechua and Aymara; which they led to an incomparable heritage of customs, rites and beliefs. The main cities are: Puno, Juliaca, Juli, Azángaro, Lampa and Ayaviri.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *